How can I avoid fees?
If you have a PayPal account but don’t use it regularly, you can avoid the fees by simply logging into your account on or before December 15, 2020.
This means that you have been “active” for the past twelve months, so you will not be charged.
At this point, if you are not using your PayPal account and do not want to risk being charged in the future, you can simply close the account (once logged in, go to “Settings” and select “Close your account” under the “Account” tab).
You can also keep the account open but you can transfer any money you have there to another account, as you will not be charged in the future if your PayPal account does not have a balance. PayPal says it has no plans to close inactive accounts without balances.
If you are a non-regular PayPal user but still want to keep your account open and the PayPal balance, it may be helpful to add a note to your diary on a certain date each year to remind you to log into your account. This will ensure that you will not be charged in the future.
PayPal also says it will warn inactive customers that they may have to pay a fee, by sending them notifications 60 days, 30 days, and then seven days before the fees are set.