Overview Knights of the Year | Hershey won the award for the best in Switzerland

Overview Knights of the Year |  Hershey won the award for the best in Switzerland

December also traditionally symbolizes the “Rider of the Year” elections in various cycling countries. Who can add this title to his honors list in any country? In LeiderstruI give an overview.

Velo d’Or – Primus Roglic

Primoz Roglic was awarded the prestigious Velo d’Or December 3, the International Cyclist of the Year award. Rogelic stayed ahead of world champion Julian Alavelippi, in part due to his victories in Liège, Baston, Liège and in the Tour of Spain. In addition to this, the leader of Jumbo-Visma became second in the tour.

Africa – Benjam Ghermay Hailu

In Africa, the award for the best cyclist is awarded to the entire continent. Talented Biniam Ghirmay Hailu managed to grab victory there, ahead of Natnael Tesfatsion and Moise Mugisha. NIPPO rider DELKO One Provence managed to score some victories in the African circuit, but also several times led solidly ahead in European one-day races. The only Eritrean 20-year-old is the successor to Daryl Imbi, who won the award last year.

Belgium – Wout van Aert

In Belgium, Wout van Aert was launched with the Flandrien Prize, awarded by Het Nieuwsblad. The mixed-use Jumbo-Visma driver in Strade Bianche, Milan-Sanremo won two rounds and finished second in both the World Championships, as well as the Flanders Tour. It also won a Crystal Bicycle Award, an initiative of Het Laatste Nieuws.

Denmark – Suren Krag Andersen

In Denmark, the honor of the best cyclist went to Suren Krag Andersen, who had a very successful year winning two stages in the Tour de France. Cragg beats Lombardy Tour winner Jacob Vogelsang, Madds Pedersen and Cecil Utrop Ludwig, among others.

Germany – Lennard Kämna

A complete coronation stage for Bora-Hansgrohe in the German elections. Leonard Kamna (Tour Stage Winner) won, ahead of team mates Maximilian Schachman and Pascal Ackerman.

France – Julian Alaphilippe

On the same evening of Velo d’Or, world champion Alaphilippe was awarded the French Cyclist of the Year. The a pet Van Deceuninck-Quick-Step also won a stage in the tour, and was the best in Brabant Arrow.

Slovenia – Primoz Roglik and Tadij Bojacar

In Slovenia they were unable to make a choice and this was not surprising. Choosing between tour winner and winner in Vuelta is not an easy choice either, so it was decided that both Pogacar and Roglic would crown their successful year. In the election to the Sportsman of the Year, the award went to Rogelic. Pogacar came second.

Switzerland – Mark Hershey

Mark Hershey was the best Swiss cyclist of 2020, which should come as no surprise. The young Sunweb contestant made a decisive lead with a stage victory in the Tour de France and a victory in the Walloon Arrow. They couldn’t ignore him in the Swiss Cycling Association either. Marilyn Rosser was named cyclist of the year in Switzerland.

Are you missing an already known country score? Then report it!

See also  It appears that Ron Paul has a stroke on the live broadcast

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.