Screenshots, online status and leaving groups: that changes with WhatsApp

Screenshots, online status and leaving groups: that changes with WhatsApp

The WhatsApp messaging service, which belongs to the meta world of Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg, has announced that it will improve data protection for users. Three new functions should give you more control over your private data.

The company has been repeatedly criticized for not taking user data protection seriously enough. Facebook recently extended the time window during which messages can be deleted. Now it’s different:

Status, leave groups and screenshots

Now it’s different:

  • In the future, as a user, you can select who existing can see. This is a display of whether you are currently ‘Online’. You will now be able to select who can see if you are currently online or not.
  • Groups can now too secretly left. If you leave a group, only the group admin will be notified in the future.
  • Media sent for one-time viewing can only do so in the future no shots More Single-display media are images, videos, or audio recordings that can only be played once. This is still being tested.

Online status and group leave features for users should already be available in August.

See also  The first hard fork for Ethereum 2.0: What is it, what will it do?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.