Karnataka Council bypoll: BJP shortlists 4 names

BS Yediyurappa

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Occasion (BJP) shortlisted 4 names, which includes two defectors from the Congress and the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) for the June 29 biennial election to contest 4 of the 7 Karnataka Legislative Council seats slipping vacant, an formal stated on Tuesday.

“The state main committee shortlisted 4 names and sent them to New Delhi for our substantial command’s approval so that they can file nominations by Thursday to contest in 4 of the 7 Council seats,” social gathering official G. Madhusudhana instructed IANS.

BS YediyurappaTwitter

4 names shortlisted for Council bypoll

The 4 are H. Vishwanath, M.T.B. Nagaraj, M. Shankar and Sunil Velyapure. Vishwanath, former JD-S leader, and Nagaraj, former Congress minister, shed in the assembly by-elections on December 5 from Hunsur in Mysuru district and Hoskote in Bengaluru Rural district.

“As Vishwanath and Nagaraj resigned from their assembly segments in July 2019 with 15 other rebels, which led to the tumble of the 14-month-old JD-S-Congress coalition govt on July 23, 2019, the committee encouraged their names for the Council seats,” said Madhusudhana.

Shankar, who was an Impartial and a minister in the previous coalition govt, was not specified the BJP ticket to contest in the December assembly bypolls nevertheless he also resigned from the Ranebennur assembly seat in Haveri district, about 340 km northwest of Bengaluru, along with former Congress and JD-S rebels.

BS Yeddyurappa

BJP wins the floor examinationTwitter / @BJP4Karnataka

Vishwanath, Nagaraj and Shankar are also aspiring to develop into ministers in the 10-thirty day period-old BJP government right after finding elected to the Council, as there are 4 vacancies in the 34-member Yeduiyurappa cabinet.

Velyapura is the party’s grass-root leader from Chincholi in Gulbarga district in the state’s northern location, about 586km from Bengaluru.

“He (Velyapura) extensively campaigned in the May perhaps 2019 basic elections and ensured the victory of our prospect Umesh Yadav from the reserved Gulbarga Lok Sabha seat, defeating Congress senior leader Mallikarjun Kharge,” recalled Madhusudhana.

As the get together has 116 legislators in the 225-member Assembly, all its 4 candidates will will need 28 votes each and every to win the contest. Of the 7 outgoing Council members, 5 are from the Congress and a person each and every from the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) and an Independent.

With 68 lawmakers, the Congress will be capable to keep 2 seats and the JD-S one as it has only 34 legislators in the lower house. Of the 75-member Council, the opposition Congress has 37, BJP 19, JD-S 16, two Independents and one Chairman.

See also  US police officer violating copyright system to stay away from YouTube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *