Indian hockey stars are nominated for the annual FIH Awards

Indian hockey stars are nominated for the annual FIH Awards

The impressive campaigns of the Indian men’s and women’s teams at the Tokyo Olympics – where the men’s team took a historic bronze medal after a four-decade gap and the women’s team reached the semi-finals for the first time – helped the players and coaches on that. Make it shortlist. In most categories of the FIH Star Awards. Gurjit Kaur and Harmanpreet Singh were nominated for the FIH Player of the Year award in the women’s and men’s categories, while goalkeepers Savita and PR Sreejesh were named for the FIH Goalkeeper of the Year awards. Georgette will compete against Eva de Jade (Netherlands), Augustina Gorzelani (Argentina), Frederic Matla and Maria Fischerr (Netherlands).

India’s Sharmila Devi has been nominated for the FIH Rising Start of the Year (Women) award, while midfielder Vivek Sagar Prasad was one of the contenders for the FIH Rising Player of the Year award.

Indian women’s coach Marian Shord, along with Australian Alison Annan, Dutch Olympic team coach and women’s world champion, and British coach Mark Hager (Australia) has been nominated for the FIFA Women’s Coach of the Year award.

In the men’s competition, India coach Graham Reed made the list along with Colin Bach (Australia), the coach of the Australian men’s team, and Shane McLeod (New Zealand), the coach of the Belgian national team who added the Olympic title. to her world title in Tokyo.

The shortlist of nominees was approved by an expert panel consisting of Roger Hoffmann, Chair of the FIFPro Athletes Committee, Media Coordinator and Journalist Sarah Goggins, and Belgian Hockey Director Adam Kamins (selected for this role by peers to represent high performance and coaching). employee), as well as FIH Board Member Maureen Craig Russo, member of the Professional Jury Committee for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The final prize winner will be chosen based on the votes of the national federations, captains, coaches, journalists, fans and players. The votes of the National Societies make up 50% of the total result. Each NA will get two votes per gender, which will come from the captain and head coach of the national team. Media votes represent 25% of the total scores. “Fan/player votes make up 25% of the overall score,” the FIH said in a statement on Monday.

Read all the latest news, breaking news and coronavirus news here

See also  Modi leads Arkansas with 24 points, leading Hogs to 3-0 with a 70-62 win over UT Arlington.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.