Guy Hindley is the first-ever Australian winner of the Giro d’Italia

Guy Hindley is the first-ever Australian winner of the Giro d'Italia

The 105th edition of the Giro d’Italia has a winner from Australia: Jay Hindley! Richard Carapaz and Mikel Landa are also allowed to take the podium.

The last trial was a prey for Mathieu Sobrero, Thymen Arensman closed out the excellent Giro with 2nd place in the stage against the clock. Matthew van der Poel came third, while Bucky Mullmann finished fourth.

The final stage of the 2022 Giro promised to save a lot of tension. And the pink jersey holder Jay Hindley (Bora) was 1.25 minutes ahead of Richard Carapaz and 1.51 minutes ahead of Mikel Landa. The differences that can be best overcome, even if it is a rather short experience: 17.4 kilometers through Verona.

7 count
Hindley also entered the Final Time Trial in 2020 as a ratings leader. At that time, he lost to Tao Jiujiegan Heart. That wasn’t surprising: the Briton had the best time on trial and the difference between them was 0 (zero yes) a second before that. But on Sunday it turned out to be an easy ride for Hindley. He lost only 7 seconds to former winner Carapaz.

Hindley grabbed the pink jersey last Saturday. Before that he won the ninth stage. After 2011, he became the second Australian to win a Grand Tour. Cadel Evans then won the Tour de France.

See also  Joost Luiten among the world's best players in Wentworth, two Dutch women in Switzerland •

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.