ECDC: Omicron cases rise to about 80

ECDC: Omicron cases rise to about 80

ANP . productions | Source: ANNP


Twenty other people in European countries appear to have the Omikron type of coronavirus among their members. This brings the total number of cases to 79. In addition, there are a few cases that are suspicious but not yet confirmed, so the number may rise according to the European Health Service ECDC.

The variant was created in fifteen countries of the European Union and the so-called European Economic Area. The Netherlands is the leader with sixteen confirmed omicron cases. At least fourteen people have been infected with this type in Portugal, ten in Germany and nine in Italy. The other countries are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Norway, Spain and Sweden.

Outside the region, the Omikron variant has also been identified in sixteen other countries, including South Africa, Botswana, the United States, Canada, Australia, South Korea, Switzerland, Ghana, and the United Arab Emirates. Worldwide, 390 cases have been diagnosed in 31 countries so far.

Most of the people who tested positive for the virus recently went to Africa. But in Belgium, Germany and Great Britain, the variant was discovered in people who had not traveled themselves and who had not been in contact with someone who had traveled.

See also  Matildas threatens to repeat Sociros's costly mistake, Despotovsky warns

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *