Cyclists 2020 Overview | Port was voted the best player in Australia

Cyclists 2020 Overview |  Port was voted the best player in Australia

December is also a traditional symbol for the “Rider of the Year” elections in various cycling countries, but some prizes are also presented later. Who can add this title to his honors list in any country? In LeiderstruI give an overview.

Velo d’Or – Primus Roglic

Primoz Roglic was awarded the prestigious Velo d’Or December 3, the International Cyclist of the Year award. Rogelic remained ahead of world champion Julian Alavelipe, due in part to his victories in Liège Baston in Liège and in the Spanish Grand Prix. In addition, he became the leader of Jumbo-Visma second in the tour.

Africa – Bennyam Ghermay Helou

In Africa, the award for the best cyclist is awarded to the entire continent. The talented Biniam Ghirmay Hailu managed to grab victory there, ahead of Natnael Tesfatsion and Moise Mugisha. NIPPO rider DELKO One Provence managed to score some victories in the African circuit, but also rode several times ahead of European one-day races. Thus the only Eritrean 20-year-old is the successor to Daryl Imbi, who won the award last year.

Australia – Richie Porte

Richie Porte can call himself Australia’s Best Cyclist for the first time in his career. Trek-Segafredo racer actually took home that award on Tuesday. The young climber finished third in the Tour de France in 2020, their first podium for a Grand Tour.

Belgium – Wout van Aert

In Belgium, Wout van Aert set off with the Flandrien Prize, awarded by Het Nieuwsblad. The mixed-use Jumbo-Visma driver in Strade Bianche and Milan-Sanremo won two rounds and finished second in both the World Cup, as well as the Flanders Tour. He also won a Crystal Bicycle Award, the Het Laatste Nieuws initiative.

See also  What are Some of the Most Underrated Movies Set in Vegas?

Denmark – Suren Krag Andersen

In Denmark, the honor of the best cyclist went to Suren Garage Andersen, who had a very successful year with two-stage victories in the Tour de France. Cragg beats Lombardy Tour winner Jakob Vogelsang, Madds Pedersen and Cecil Utrop Ludwig, among others.

Germany – Lennard Kämna

A complete coronation stage for Bora-Hansgrohe in the German elections. Leonard Kamna (Tour Stage Winner) achieved victory, ahead of teammates Maximilian Schachman and Pascal Ackerman.

France – Julian Alavelippi

On the same evening of Velo d’Or, world champion Alaphilippe was awarded the French Cyclist of the Year. The a pet Van Deceuninck-Quick-Step also won a stage in the tour and was the best in Brabantse Pijl.

Italy – Filippo Jana

Filippo Gana became the biggest winner of Italy’s Cyclist of the Year award. The INEOS Grenadiers man had a great season on the track, but above all on the road. Become the world champion in Trials in Imola and win four stages in Giro d’Italia, three of which were time trials. And so it was the prize for the best contestant of the year. Due to the Coronavirus, the presentation was somewhat delayed.

Slovenia – Primoz Roglik and Tadij Bojacar

In Slovenia they were unable to make a choice and this was not surprising. Choosing between tournament winner and winner in Vuelta is not an easy choice either, so it was decided that both Pogacar and Roglic would crown their successful year. In the election to the Sportsman of the Year, the award went to Rogelic. Pogacar came second.

Switzerland – Mark Hershey

Mark Hershey was the best Swiss cyclist of 2020, and that should come as no surprise. Sunweb’s young jockey made a decisive advance with a stage victory in the Tour de France and a victory in the Walloon Arrow. They couldn’t ignore him in the Swiss Cycling Association either. Marilyn Rosser was named cyclist of the year in Switzerland.

Do you miss the result of an already known country? Then report it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.