UK eases entry policy to Omikron, all Red List countries

UK eases entry policy to Omikron, all Red List countries

ANP . productions | source: ANNP


The United Kingdom is removing all 11 countries from its red list of regions subject to strict entry restrictions. The British government decided this because the system was no longer very effective in slowing the spread of the Omikron variant of the coronavirus, British media reported.

The red list includes Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Travelers from those countries are only allowed to travel to England if they hold British or Irish citizenship or a residence permit. They must also be isolated at their own expense in a hotel approved by the British authorities.

These measures will end on Wednesday morning, if all countries are officially removed from the list. Health Minister Sajid Javid could not yet say whether that meant some travelers would be allowed to end hotel quarantine early, according to Sky News. It is also unclear whether people who have recently paid thousands of pounds for it will get their money back.

Minister Javid said the Omikron variant has already spread around the world and is also spreading in the UK. Which is why, in his opinion, the Red List is no longer a good way to keep the alternative out.

See also  US refereeing: Champion Aurora Ster (Goffert 369) and Tineke Kroon Sport (Fetse 349)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.