The calendar, the formula, the teams… all you need to know about the women’s championship. sport

The calendar, the formula, the teams... all you need to know about the women's championship.  sport

In baseball, football is the only field of the Olympics, and it started two days before the opening ceremony. This privilege is explained by the payback periods imposed by the match format, which give teams at least 48 hours of rest between each match. This is how the women’s tournament began. France is absent on Wednesday 21 July, each of the first day’s six matches can be played in six of the seven stadiums where football events are held. The formula, the winners, the playoffs, the calendar, the broadcast… Here’s what you need to know before the competition begins.


Twelve teams have qualified for the Olympics and will play at least the first round. The states are divided into three groups of four. The first two of these groups automatically qualify for the quarter-finals, as well as the best thirds. The final stage is then played in the form of knockout matches which, in the event of a tie after 90 minutes, can result in an additional thirty minutes (2 x 15 minutes) and penalty kicks.

Unlike their male counterparts, women’s teams are not subject to age restrictions and can select any player as long as they meet the nationality criteria.

Competition stages

The competition will be held in a roving atmosphere and will be spread over the seven stadiums where the matches will be played. Two are in Tokyo, but the teams will also have to travel cross-country, sometimes north to Sapporo. Discover the venues selected by the International Olympic Committee.

See also  No vaccine, no US Open for Novak Djokovic? "That sounds like outdated thinking."

» Tokyo National Olympic Stadium (where the final will be held), 60,016 seats; Tokyo Stadium, 49,000 seats; Saitama Stadium, 62,000 seats; Yokohama International Stadium, 70,000 seats. Kashima Football Stadium, 42 thousand seats. Miyagi Stadium in Sendai, 48,000 seats; Sapporo Dome, 42,000 seats.

Read also. What are the main locations where the events are held?


Since the women’s championship made its way into the Olympics, the United States has won medals and titles. A four-time silver medalist and once between 1996 and 2012, the American selection is clearly still an ogre in discipline, but failed to replace him in Rio in 2016. Germany took the opportunity to tip the scales and take its first Olympic title, given the The absence of the US team, which surprised Sweden in the quarter-finals. These are the winners of the women’s soccer tournament at the Olympics.

Rio 2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze).

London 2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze).

Beijing 2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze).

Athens 2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze).

Sydney 2000: Norway (gold), USA (silver), Germany (bronze).

Atlanta 1996: The United States (gold), China (silver), and Norway (bronze).

Read also. Calendar, times, broadcasts… Everything you need to know about the Tokyo Olympics


As the host nation, Japan qualified automatically, but all other teams had to register in major international competitions or through Olympic qualifying tournaments to secure a place at the Olympics. Brazil and New Zealand respectively won the 2018 Copa America and Oceania, and were the first two nations to qualify for this women’s Olympic tournament. Great Britain, Netherlands and Sweden all received their tickets through the World Cup. One of the followers, a lottery was held to form groups at the Olympics.

See also  Shipping recap: a defense hits 21 points to lead the Bronco, losing 31-30

Group A: Japan, Canada, Great Britain, Chile.

Group B: Brazil, China, Zambia, Netherlands.

Group C: Sweden, USA, Australia and New Zealand.


The Olympic tournament takes place from July 21 to August 6, or nearly the entire duration of the Olympic Games. Here is the programme.

Wednesday, July 21: Great Britain – Chile (9:30 a.m., in Sapporo), Brazil – China (10:00 a.m., in Miyagi), United States – Sweden (10:30 a.m., in Tokyo), Japan – Canada (12:30 p.m., in Sapporo)), Netherlands – Zambia (13.00, Miyagi), Australia – New Zealand (13.00, Tokyo).

Saturday 24 July: Canada – Chile (9:30 am, in Sapporo), China – Zambia (10 am, in Miyagi), Sweden – Australia (10:30 am, in Saitama), Japan – Great Britain (12:30 pm, in Sapporo) , Brazil – the Netherlands (13.00, in Miyagi), the United States – New Zealand (13.00, in Saitama).

Tuesday 27 July: USA – Australia (10 am, in Kashima), Sweden – New Zealand (10 am, in Miyagi), Japan – Chile (1 pm, in Miyagi), Canada – Great Britain (1 pm, in Kashima), Netherlands – China (1:30 pm, in Yokohama, Brazil – Zambia (1:30 pm, in Saitama).

Friday 30 July: Quarter-finals (10 a.m. in Miyagi, 11 a.m. in Kashima, 12 noon in Saitama, 1 p.m. in Yokohama).

Monday 2 August: Semi-finals (10 a.m. in Kashima, 1 p.m. in Yokohama).

Thursday 5 August: Third place match (10 a.m., Kashima).

Friday, August 6: Final (4 hours at Tokyo Olympic Stadium).

definition of

In France, the Olympic Games are broadcast by France Télévisions and Eurosport. All football results can be found on our website

See also  AP releases school soccer preseason Top rated 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *