WhatsApp is expanding a popular feature. Now certain messages can also be sent as self-delete.
WhatsApp is introducing a new function for more privacy when chatting in the next few days. The messaging service announced, on Thursday, in a post on its blog, that in the future, users will be able to send voice messages that they will delete themselves after listening to them once.
WhatsApp therefore relies on the “single viewing” function of photos and videos, which has been around since 2021. Audio messages are also marked with the corresponding icon so that the recipient knows that he can only listen to them once.
Make sure it’s turned on: WhatsApp has a hidden protection function
You should keep this in mind though as the new functionality on WhatsApp is gone
According to WhatsApp, the function is suitable for planning surprises or transferring sensitive data such as credit card information via voice messages.
However, the messaging service itself indicates that the media can also be stored on WhatsApp servers for single viewing for a few weeks after sending it, for example in order to be able to enforce the message reporting function.
Recipients can also create copies of voice memos themselves, just as they can with one-time photos and videos, for example if the recipient has a voice recorder running.
Other readers are also interested:
Lifelong foodaholic. Professional twitter expert. Organizer. Award-winning internet geek. Coffee advocate.