American football players win the Gold Cup and qualify for the Games in Paris

American football players win the Gold Cup and qualify for the Games in Paris

France Press agency

Football NOS

While the European Women’s Football Championship continues in full swing, we are already behind in the final in North and Central America. The United States won.

The defending champion and reigning world champion settled 1-0 with Olympic champion Canada in Guadalupe, Mexico.

In addition to the accompanying Gold Cup, the overall victory for the American woman gave the American women a ticket to the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris. For the second ticket on behalf of CONCACAF, the Confederation of North and Central America and the Caribbean, Canada will have to compete in a playoff with Jamaica, who defeated Costa Rica 1-0 in the match for bronze.

Morgan of eleven meters

Under the eyes of FIFA President Gianni Infantino, Alex Morgan scored the only goal in the final. Passed by goalkeeper Keelen Sheridan from the penalty spot after Canadian Alicia Chapman’s foul on Rose Lavelle. This was Morgan’s 118th goal in the national jersey.

With the title, America avenged its defeat in the Olympic semi-finals last year, when Canada hit the final stage with a penalty kick and won in Tokyo for the first time in twenty years against its southern neighbor. In the final battle, Sweden was then settled.

Jamaica finished third thanks to an extra-time goal by substitute Calissa van Xanten. Costa Rica did not come home completely empty-handed, although the top four qualified for next year’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The tournament, which has been held eight times since the first edition in 1991, has been won by America four times.

See also  Aviation accident in Mersen coincides with an accident in the United States | 1 Limburg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.